The Scholarship Committees

For the HWA and Mary Shelley Scholarships, the Committee is:

Simonphotof[1]Marge Simon is married to Bruce Boston. Her works appear in publications such as DailySF Magazine, Pedestal, Urban Fantasist, and Bete Noire. She edits a column for the HWA Newsletter, “Blood & Spades: Poets of the Dark Side,” and serves as Chair of the Board of Trustees. She won the Strange Horizons Readers Choice Award, 2010, and the SFPA’s Dwarf Stars Award, 2012. She has won three Bram Stoker Awards ® for Superior Work in Poetry and has poetry in HWA’s Simon & Schuster anthology Scary Out There (forthcoming in 2016). Marge also has poems in Darke Phantastique, Qualia Nous collections, Chiral Mad 3 and Spectral Realms, 2014-2015.

Carina Bissett is a writer, poet, and educator working primarily in the fields of dark fiction and interstitial art. Her short fiction and poetry have been published in multiple journals and anthologies including Arterial Bloom, Gorgon: Stories of Emergence, Hath No Fury, Mythic Delirium, NonBinary Review, and the HWA Poetry Showcase Vol. V and VI. She teaches online workshops at The Storied Imaginarium, and she is a graduate of the Creative Writing MFA program at Stonecoast. Her work has been nominated for several awards including the Pushcart Prize and the Sundress Publications Best of the Net. Links to her work can be found at

The Dark Poetry Scholarship Committee will be announced.

For the Rocky Wood Memorial Scholarship, consultants are:

LesKlinger_049_lgLeslie S. Klinger is the New York Times-best-selling editor of the Edgar®-winningThe New Annotated Sherlock Holmes, The New Annotated Dracula, and most recently, the Bram Stoker Award®-nominated The New Annotated H. P. Lovecraft for Liveright/W. W. Norton, In the Shadow of Edgar Allan Poe (Pegasus Books), as well as the Bram Stoker Award®-nominated Annotated Sandman (Vertigo/DC Entertainment). He also co-edited, with Laurie R. King, the anthologies A Study in Sherlock (Random House) and the Anthony®-winning In the Company of Sherlock Holmes (Pegasus Books). He is currently working on The New Annotated Frankenstein, to be published by Liveright in October 2017. Klinger formerly served as the SoCal Chapter President and on the National Board of the Mystery Writers of America. He practices law in Los Angeles, where he lives with his wife, dog, and 3 cats. For more, please visit

lisabyellensmall-213x300Lisa Morton is a screenwriter, author of non-fiction books, novelist, six-time winner of the Bram Stoker Award®, and Halloween expert whose work was described by the American Library Association’s Readers’ Advisory Guide to Horror as “consistently dark, unsettling, and frightening.” She is the author of over 150 short stories and is a former President of the Horror Writers Association. Lisa lives in the San Fernando Valley, online at, or she can be found at Facebook.

Also on the Rocky Wood Committee: Derrick Hussey and Vince Liaguno.

The committee for the Diversity Grants will be judged by Linda Addison (chair) and Larissa Glasser, Maxwell I. Gold, Violet Castro, and Grady Hendrix.

The members for the Dennis Etchison Young Writers Scholarship subcommittee are Becky Spratford (chair) and Emily Vinci.

The HWA’s Library & Literacy team will make up the subcommittee for the Young Adults Write Now endowments.

The Scholarship From Hell will be judged by the Chairs of StokerCon.

Note: Please do not attempt to contact the committee members individually. If you have questions regarding your scholarship application, please direct them to HWA’s Administrator Brad Hodson. Thank you.